Picky Pancakes

During this wonderful pre-toddler stage my Cizzle is in, she is learning to be a diva, a spy, a professional at playtime, a rock (aka couch) climber, and an eyelash battingly sweetly defiant monster amongst many other things. But she is also learning to be a picky eater, mostly due to the fact that she’s been cutting all of her molars at the same time, otherwise she would normally eat anything I put in front of her. So I have really had to be quite creative lately with her meals.

This is a little recipe I came up with during one of my frantic mornings telling her “…you can’t just eat applesauce and crackers ALL day! I have to get something somewhat healthy and nutritious into you little diva!”. And after trying just about every piece of fruit, whole grain cereal, and organic yogurt in my arsenal, I figured pancakes would never be turned down.

1 cup pancake mix
1/3 cup whole wheat flour
3 tbsp baby oatmeal cereal
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
About ten frozen and thawed or fresh blueberries

Smash the blueberries with back of fork in a small bowl, add the oatmeal cereal and applesauce, mix well and set aside.

Mix the whole wheat flour with the pancake mix, then add water until desired pancake consistency (if you don’t have whole wheat flour, just use pancake mix as normal. This just makes me feel a little bit better about making her pancakes).

Pour pancake mix into a preheated pan in small silver dollar size drops, spoon some of the “filling” on top, then add a little more pancake mix on top of that, just so the filling is covered. Cook as usual, and cool well before serving to your little toddler (or big kid, or you!), as the middle will be quite warm. Yum!

I’ll add pictures of the actual pancakes once I get the hang of this blogging thing, but in the meantime, here is my CizzlePie’s debut.

20110325-065912.jpg

One thought on “Picky Pancakes

  1. isn’t Lil Cizzlepie is the Cutest baby EVER!! this is gonna be fun reading about her and her mommy my sweetie darling. love it!

Leave a Reply

